Subscribe for special offers
Go to cart (0) items [$0.00]
Back to Shop

Click for larger image

Mojo 180 Gram 2-LP Vinyl

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
Mojo 180 Gram 2-LP Vinyl

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers have been one of America's greatest live bands since their first club tours and opening-act jobs, in 1976 and '77. Lethal garage-rock modernists with pop-hook savvy, they've always had the chops and empathy to make a studio record like Mojo: everybody in one room, going for the master take together and getting it fast. They just took 34 years to work up the nerve.

It was worth the wait. Mojo is dynamite — Petty and the Heartbreakers' matured return to the elementary fury of their first golden-twang era, capped by 1981's Hard Promises. The performances are natural knockouts — cocksure grooves, pithy knife-play guitars and little overdub fuss — worked up, then nailed, some on the first full take, at the band's suburban Los Angeles rehearsal space. Petty can't help stressing the authenticity here. The credits include the make and vintage of every instrument and the exact tracking date of each song. That's Petty playing a 1964 Gibson ES-335 guitar and lead guitarist Mike Campbell wielding his steady weapon, a '59 Les Paul Sunburst, on April 28th of last year, in the opening number, "Jefferson Jericho Blues."

Availability: In stock


Be the first to review this product


A1           Jefferson Jericho Blues 3:23
A2           First Flash Of Freedom  6:55
A3           Running Man's Bible       6:01
B1           The Trip To Pirate's Cove              4:59
B2           Candy   4:11
B3           No Reason To Cry            3:04
B4           I Should Have Known It 3:36
C1           U.S. 41  3:00
C2           Takin' My Time  4:21
C3           Let Yourself Go 3:23
C4           Don't Pull Me Over          4:04
D1           Lover's Touch    4:23
D2           High In The Morning       3:36
D3           Something Good Coming             4:11
D4           Good Enough    5:48